Skip to content

Know what I mean?

January 28, 2011

Have you ever been in a conversation with someone who is trying to explain something to you and they keep asking you “know what I mean”? Ah, no actually. I have no bloody clue at all what you are talking about!

Here’s how this person normally sounds:

“Hey Jim. I was working with Sally and she’s quite upset. She’s not …uh …happy. Know what I mean? You know. That Baker Report. It …. um … got to her. It kind of ticked her off. Know what I mean?”

Nope. Still don’t know what you mean. The reason I don’t know what you mean is you sound like an idiot and you have done nothing to actually describe the problem to me or why I should be interested in it. And when I tell you I don’t know what you mean you exasperate the problem by continuing to ask me if I know what you mean.

Folks, this isn’t rocket science. If you want someone to know what you mean, say it. And precisely it. Don’t skirt around the issue. Don’t fumble around the issue. And certainly don’t ever say “know what I mean”, because the odds are pretty good that no one will know what you mean. Know what I mean?

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

